| Simplifying Immigration | is not affiliated with the Canadian Government or any Government Agency.


Welcome back. Go to your forms.

What are the Requirements for a Tourist Visa?

People looking to visit Canada may have to obtain a tourist visa.

Tourism visas are government issued immigration documents that allow a person to remain in Canada for up to six months without renewal.

Not everyone needs to obtain a tourist visa to Canada. Depending on what country one may be from, one may be able to apply for entry at the Canadian border without prior visa arrangements.

Below is a list of countries whose residents do not need to obtain a visitor visa:

  • AndorraTourist permit
  • Anguilla
  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Australia
  • Austria
  • The Bahamas
  • Barbados
  • Belgium
  • Bermuda
  • British citizens, overseas citizens, nationals and subjects
  • The British Virgin Islands
  • Brunei
  • Cayman Islands
  • Croatia
  • Cyprus
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • The Falkland Islands
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Gibraltar
  • Greece
  • The Holy See (The Vatican)
  • Hong Kong
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Ireland
  • Israel
  • Italy
  • Japan
  • The Republic of Korea
  • The Republic of Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Monaco
  • Montserrat
  • Netherlands
  • New Zealand
  • Norway
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pitcairn
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Samoa
  • San Marino
  • Singapore
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Solomon Islands
  • Spain
  • St. Helena
  • St. Kitts and Nevis
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland
  • Taiwan
  • Turks and Caicos Islands
  • Citizens and permanent residents of the United States of America

People who are not from one of the above countries are advised to contact Citizenship and Immigration Canada at a Canadian foreign consulate to arrange for a visitor visa before their trip to Canada.

The fees associated with a single entry visitor visa are $75.

For multiple entries, for example coming to Canada multiple times over the course of many years, the fee is $150.

Immigration officers at the border will let the visitor know when they will be required to leave the country to maintain the validity of their visa.

Goto Top