| Simplifying Immigration | is not affiliated with the Canadian Government or any Government Agency.


Welcome back. Go to your forms.

Provincial Nominees Program Visas to be Increased

Citizenship and Immigration Canada (CIC) recently announced that it intends to welcome 42,000 to 45,000 persons to Canada under the Provincial Nominees Program (PNP) category in 2012. This number is inclusive of the nominees, their spouses and dependents. In 2010, Canada welcomed 36,000 persons under the PNP. CIC is still accepting applications in this category this year and hopes to see a record increase in 2012.

The announcement was made by Jason Kenney, Citizenship, Immigration and Multiculturalism Minister, on Nov 7, 2011. He said, “The Government of Canada recognizes the crucial role the Provincial Nominee Program plays in meeting local labour market needs. The PNP has made great strides in sharing the benefits of economic immigration across the country.”

Minister Kenney said the CIC and the provinces are working on making the process a more balanced one along with the increase in the numbers of immigrants being accepted under this program.


Provinvial Nominee Program
                        Overall PNP Admissions (2004-2010)                                             Source:

The Provincial Nominee Program

Provinces and territories in Canada may nominate persons to come to Canada as Provincial Nominees. Under this program, provinces have an agreement with the Canadian government which allows them to nominate persons to immigrate and settle in that province. Each province has its own nomination procedures. Persons wanting to immigrate to Canada under this program have to apply to the province. If they are approved they will be issued a Certificate of Provincial Nomination. Using this certificate, they have to apply with the CIC for permanent residence.

Except Quebec and Nunavat, all provinces have a Provincial Nominee agreement with the Canadian government. The nominees have to meet the requirements of the Canadian labour market needs and also meet the government’s admissibility requirements.

The provinces currently participating in this program are Alberta, Manitoba, Newfoundland and Labrador, Ontario, Saskatchewan, British Columbia, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, Yukon and Northwest Territories.

Goto Top